ugh.

I. am. sick. ugh… I woke up at about 4:30 this morning and haven’t felt good since then. My stomach is making terrible noises. One minute it sounds like a pinball machine and the next an earthquake. My innerds are all jittery inside and they kinda all feel slanted, a little off-balance. ugh.

This might be for a couple of reasons 1. I had camp food last night for the first time in a long time. Now our camp doesn’t serve bad food, but I’m just not used to it. 2. I ate a few oreo balls for dessert. One of the female staffers made oreo balls for all the camp wives since we made them cookies. Fair trade! I didn’t know I’d feel like this today when I took these shots yesterday….

Baked spaghetti...are you the reason my tummy feels like a hurricane??

Or was it you, you delicious little oreo balls...

Since my jobs calls for constant human interaction and full attention to their every thought and body language, I figured I needed to stay home today. I can’t worry about what’s going on with my insides while trying to help others. So I’m just spending the day half sleeping, half awake with little poochie girl.

and her massive tongue!

I have, however, really enjoyed this week! I haven’t had a whole lot of contact with the campers other than Sunday night dinner and seeing them through the front windows. I have, however, had some time with some of the staff. I was able to have a long convo with one of the girls this week. She is struggling with a lot of some of the same things I went through when I was on staff. For any of you praying people out there, she could use some prayers.

Last night was kind of interesting as well. The staff holds a “Presentation Night” each week for the campers showing them the passion play. I really wanted to attend but was unable to because I had lots of homework to complete. I ended up having to go to the camp office to print everything out because our home printer is low on ink. Once I walked in the door around 10 I got a phone call from Sam. There was something going on with one of the campers and he wanted some insight on what the issue might be. I went over to the campsite where they were staying and the little girl was just having a tough night. She had some difficulties throughout the week and had a lot going on for her. I wanted to try to help but it was very late and she wasn’t interested in meeting anyone new, and that’s ok. She had made a relationship with her dean and he was able to diffuse the problem and let those who needed to know about it stay informed.

Camp is a very busy place. Not only are kids coming and going all the time but they all come in with their own story. The campers are much more complex than we are sometimes able to see. What drives them to misbehave or call out for attention may be a deficit for them in their home life. I wish we were able to have more time with the campers, but I know they get a lot out of their experiences that they have here and that’s the best thing we can give them. And we always have the ability to pray for them once they leave.

Random side note: back to the tummy…Sam just came home for lunch and made tuna, tuna! Who does that. Now I feel extra sick, eww.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mom
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 15:20:54

    Feel better soon! You are probably right. Food you haven’t been used to probably did it. Keep a supply of Pepto on hand. Oreo balls are hard to resist!!

    Reply

  2. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 05:46:58

    Ugh. I hate that funky stomach feeling. Looks like we both got hit with it. Hope you’re feeling better today!

    Camp sure does sound super busy, but fulfilling!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

