Remember to Breathe

Yesterday I took a sick day because I had a doctor’s appointment out of town. I ended up having to get a little blood work done and the nurse kept telling me to remember to breathe. I thought I was breathing until each time she said it and I would let a huge gulp of air in. Giving blood is not my forte. In college we had an annual blood drive that the Greeks participated in, I loathed it. I was always the sucker who had to lay all the way down and have an IV of sprite! Kinda fuzzy but gives you an idea of how terrible this process was….

Greek blood drive: empty bag + thought of my blood filling it in a minute = terrified look on my face

The last few days I have been trying to live by that mantra as well, “Remember to breathe” just enjoying the moment and taking it for what it’s worth. After the doctor’s appointment I had all day to do anything I wanted. I planned to go shopping at Hobby Lobby and poke around town, since we aren’t there much, but I completely forgot because I was on the phone making arrangements for work. Oh well! There’s always tomorrow. The rest of the day I was able to walk with Reese around camp and catch up on homework. I was actually really productive! Camp was alive with children, it was definitely a nice day to be home from work. A school field trip was here to visit, it was a nice preview to what the summer will sound like. Sam had them at the pool for swim time and he had them all read the pool rules as Pirates, they had to say ARGH! after everything, super cute.

That night we went to visit some friends at a minor league baseball game. It was really nice to get away for the night and be social. In an effort to continue to be more active a few of us decided to run the 5K this fall. I’m actually pretty pumped about this, I hope I can complete it (it may help to get back on the couch to 5k program!!) I have had a secret goal of completing a triathlon, like a super tiny one, at some point. I was actually at a camp wedding a couple weekends ago and met up with one of my friends Leah. She mentioned something about wanting to do a triathlon too, so I may ask her for some accountability with this goal.

Leah and I at the wedding. P.S. camp weddings are the best, it's like a family reunion getting to see everyone!

We were able to spend a few hours at the baseball game up in box seats, it was great. We left with some friends that were there and went to a local restaurant type thing. It was kind of mixture of a restaurant/sports bar/night club, very odd, but it was nice to be out and social so I’m not complaining!

Today I went to work for about an hour and a half then came home right after. I took full advantage of the day off with laundry, walks with Reese, a bike ride and of course a trip to Wal Mart. The bike ride was the perfect part of my Friday. I love having the freedom to get out on the bike and have some time to think and breathe. Nothing better than seeing this in the rearview mirror…

Road, here we come!

It’s looking a lot more like summer camp out here. The new staff have come out this weekend for climbing and rappelling training. They will get to learn how to send campers up and down the climbing tower. This is a great part of the ministry out here. Of course this means that the hubby will be no where in sight for the next few days but I’m sure I’ll be fully occupied with homework and housework.

Climbing tower at camp

Tomorrow I plan to hit up the Farmer’s Market for some plants to spruce this place up and maybe some veggies. We’ll see how that goes..

Leave a Reply

