Community

One thing I miss most about living in a bigger city is the church life community. Since moving out to camp we have not be regular in our attendance to a church. Most people say “Well you live at a church camp, so it’s like you are at church all the time!” Most of the time I smile and nod, giving myself this excuse as well. But this isn’t the case. Living at a church camp is not church. It is a place of God, a spiritual experience in itself, but I would not compare it to a church. Church for me is a community of people learning about God and growing closer to him.

A favorite mission trip photo from high school

Living at camp is not an excuse for not being a part of a church either. There are two other families that live here that go to church regularly, actually they go to the church I grew up in. But for Sam and I, we wanted a new place to be able to go together. Unfortunately his Sunday schedule is not consistent and we are unable to attend a place frequently. Also, church for me is more than once a week. It is a commitment of being part of a group, actively involved in ministry. We have tried one church in town and it wasn’t the best fit for us, so we kind of stopped looking. Then that turned into not going at all. Truthfully, I haven’t been to a Sunday service consistently in years! Not exactly a role model for a camp wife!

I do try to find growth in other ways. I love Donald Miller and religiously read his books and thoughts. Rob Bell is also another favorite. And of course simply reading the Bible, which I could do more of.

Love. This. Book.

Today, we were able to get together with camp friends and celebrate a birthday at the Hot Rod’s minor league baseball game. This is one of the best parts in being part of a camp staff. The relationships are so strong and lifelong. I have such an amazing group of friends from my camp experience. It is nice to be able to get together with friends and have relationships built on faith and life changing experiences together.

First time on full-time staff

I’m very thankful for being a part of the summer staff here at camp. I know this is a place that will always be special to me. I’m still trying to figure out how to balance going to a church and not feeling like I have to be as involved as I was in the past. It just may not be feasible for me at this point in my life and I need to accept that. I always have access to growth individually.

This weekend was a good example of the staff community we have. It was so nice to have some of our summer staffers out here working and being able to give back to them, even if it was just pizza. I look forward to this summer and having that energy around. It’ll be here before we know it! And my husband will be just a vague memory until September rolls around 🙂

Leave a Reply

