Schweaty Mess!

The other day I was looking through some blogs and I came across one that read “My goal is to sweat at least once every day!” I thought that was kind of intriguing. The last month or so I have been trying to become more active and more conscious of what I am eating. After a bachelorette weekend I learned about a blog called Peanut Butter Fingers. In the blog Julie gives her accounts of staying active and gives healthy eating tips. This motivated me to look closer at what I was eating and how I planned to get into shape.

Last fall I decided I needed to lose some weight. I ended up losing around 37lbs 🙂 Unfortunately losing the weight isn’t the hard part, maintaing the weight loss is much more difficult. I have gained about 10 of those pounds back and am actively trying to get at a healthy weight in a healthy way.

Today I got sweaty by biking. It was only 13 miles but it’s a start!

View from my half way point

Schweaty Mess!

I have also been obessed with documentaries related to food lately too. Food Inc. and Food Matters have both been very much a part of my change in eating habbits. It just makes sense to know what you are eating and what it does to your body.

I have NOT (!) followed this thinking at all times, by any means! I still love some packaged donuts and Papa Johns 🙂 But it’s a process. And for me it’s just beginning.

I think health is so important for women espcially because during pregancy our children are so dependent on what we feed them. This responsiblity cannot be taken lightly. Of course I have no children and won’t for a couple years, but it’s still an important issue to me.

I also am very interested in childhood obesity. This is a passion of mine that I hope to one day pursue. I just don’t think it’s fair that children have their most basic joy – active play, taken away from them. Parents are responsible for what their children eat and when they eat, we have just gotten to a point where fast food is much more attainable for our fast paced lives.
Just some food for thought. Speaking of..! Food Revolution is a new favorite!! If you haven’t seen it, watch it!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: When it Rains, it Frogs « Adventures Of A Camp Wife
  2. Trackback: First Day of Camp!!! « Adventures Of A Camp Wife

Leave a Reply

